Interview Week

Keeping a blog, especially a personal blog like this one, is a labor of love. It’s moreover a labor of ego. I publish my amateur thoughts here, united by an incoherent theme, with the implication that they’re worth your time to read. I don’t do it for money (which would, in my mind, make it less egotistical, like journalism), but for some ineffable personal gratification that comes with having a product of one’s efforts evaluated by others. Given the opportunity to compare my own disparate thoughts on a subject and pare them down to something like cogency, it’s possible that I learn something, and learning is always welcome, but if you, the reader, take nothing away, the whole pursuit remains an exhibitionist, self-serving solipsism. (Which I shouldn’t feel too bad about, given my namesake.)

Interview Week is an extension of that initial arrogant assumption. I now presume not only the benefits of my own thoughts, but those of my close friends, as well. But there’s method to this madness.

Sometimes people accuse me of not caring what they think. This is often the case. With the internet, I have at my fingertips the veritable history of knowledge, and with the blogosphere, the history of informed opinion. When we desire facts, authenticated data is superior to our own faulty and subjective memories. But what about opinion? If I want to find some sweet sweetback blaxploitation film soundtracks, my friends would not be my primary resource, and not because I discount their knowledge. Au contraire! I highly value my friends’ opinions on a number of subjects. But there is undoubtedly someone in a far corner of the world who virtually dedicates his life to the gathering and assessment of blaxploitation film soundtracks. (It can even be a whole community.) Their efforts give them experience, experience leads to expertise, and I am someone keen on reaping the harvest of expertise.

But the internet is not omniscient yet. Our familiars might be inferior sources of fact, and rarely sources of the most informed opinion, but our unique identities endow our impressions–how things seem, how things should be, how things could be–with an inviolable, inimitable singularity that no body of knowledge will ever be able to capture. Besides, I genuinely want to know all the answers. I can’t promise that you’ll be equally edified, but my friends are a motley, international crew and, well, I wouldn’t hang out with them if they were boring.

I conducted all interviews electronically and edited them slightly to meet the Krapp’s Last Blog in-house style, which hasn’t quite been codified, but which consists of single quotation marks when I can remember to put them and the diaresis marks for consecutive vowels in words like co√∂perate, even though I’ve yet to have the opportunity. Yea, I stole that last one from The New Yorker. Maybe I’ll do profiles next.

~ by ohkrapp on May 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
