The Best Albums of 2007! (If you still care)

. . .

I was supposed to post all this in January– y’know, back when anyone still cared. I’m sure you’re ear-deep in your Vampire Weekend and your Portishead by now, but in these trying, semester-end times, I thought I’d empty out the vaults and remind everyone what a stellar year 2007 was for music (and, especially, movies– they’ll be here soon enough, too). Also, I’m preparing my first 2008 music post!

Each album entry originally had commentary (as in the first and second parts). However, seeing as how music criticism has since been reduced to rankings and decimals, forgoing the formalities seemed like a lucid editorial choice. (And sometimes I’m not sure that reduction has been a bad thing. Yes, music criticism as a contribution to cultural discourse has been undermined, but the vast majority of readers are only interested in reviews for their final verdict: should I make an effort to hear this music or not? If I don’t like an album after listening to it on the recommendation of someone whose taste I trust, I will rarely, rarely be swayed by their explanation after the fact as to why I should like it. Only the finest music criticism is worthwhile reading following one’s exposure to the music itself. Critics are primarily useful as truffle pigs: they sniff through the muck and tell you what might be good. The brightest among them tell you why it might be good, if you care to listen.)

Here’s everything I heard last year and how I feel about it. Let me know if you want an explanation. Remember that you can find several of the individual tracks on the artists’ respective Myspace pages.

Also, I never heard that Radiohead album. No offense.

Constellation:

Band of Horses, Cease to Begin
Menonema, Friend and Foe
Okkervil River, The Stage Names
Magik Markers, Boss
Wilco, Sky Blue Sky
Feist, The Reminder
Patrick Wolf, The Magic Position
Blonde Redhead, 23
Earth, Hibernaculum
!!!, Myth Takes
St. Vincent, Marry Me
Liars, Liars
Ricardo Villalobos, Fabric 36
Les Savy Fav, Let’s Stay Friends
Clientele, God Save the Clientele [Previously Bronze]

Bronze:

Arcade Fire, Neon Bible
Black Moth Super Rainbow, Dandelion Gum
Grizzly Bear, Friend EP
Fiery Furnaces, Widow City
Ghostface Killah, Big Do Rehab
Jens Lekman, Night Falls Over Kortedala
Wu-Tang Clan, 8 Diagrams
Chromatics, Night Drive
Roisin Murphy, Overpowered
Prodigy, Return of the Mac
The National, The Boxer
Spoon, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga
Justice, Cross
Tinariwen, Aman Iman [Previously Silver]

Silver:

Kanye West, Graduation
Black Lips, Good Bad Not Evil; Los Valientes del Mundo
Deerhunter, Cryptograms; Fluorescent Grey EP
Tough Alliance, A New Chance
Jay-Z, American Gangster
Caribou, Andorra
Kelley Polar, Chrysanthemum EP
A Place to Bury Strangers, A Place to Bury Strangers
Field, From Here We Go to Sublime
Pantha du Prince, This Bliss
Burial, Untrue

Gold:

Electrelane, No Shouts, No Calls
Gui Boratto, Chromophobia
Studio, West Coast [Previously Bronze!]
Lil Wayne, Tha Drought III
LCD Soundsystem, Sound of Silver
Animal Collective, Strawberry Jam
Battles, Mirrored
Of Montreal, Hissing Fauna, Are You the Destroyer?
Panda Bear, Person Pitch
M.I.A., KALA
No Age, Weirdo Rippers

Runner-Up: Deerhoof, Friend Opportunity

Album of the Year: Robert Wyatt, Comicopera

* * *

My favorite songs of the year:

Panda Bear, ‘Bros,’ ‘Ponytail’
M.I.A., ‘Paper Planes,’ ‘The Turn,’ ‘$20′
Electrelane, ‘The Greater Times,’ ‘To the East,’ ‘Cut and Run’
Robert Wyatt, ‘Stay Tuned,’ ‘Just As You Are,’ ‘Mob Rule,’ ‘A Beautiful War’
No Age, ‘Dead Plane’
Animal Collective, ‘#1,’ ‘Derek’
Studio, ‘West Side’
Fiery Furnaces, ‘My Egyptian Grammar’
Jay-Z, ‘Say Hello’
LCD Soundsystem, ‘All My Friends,’ ‘New York I Love You…’
Roisin Murphy, ‘Overpowered’
Justice, ‘D.A.N.C.E.’
Field, ‘Everyday’
Pantha du Prince, ‘Walden 2′
Black Moth Super Rainbow, ‘Forever Heavy’
Of Montreal, ‘Gronlandic Edit,’ ‘Heimdalsgate Like a Promethean’
Patrick Wolf, ‘Magic Position’
Burial, ‘Ghost Hardware’
Magik Markers, ‘Empty Bottles’
Timbaland, ‘The Way I Are’
Caribou, ‘Irene’
Blonde Redhead, ‘23′
Kanye West, ‘Everything I Am’
Chromatics, ‘I Want Your Love,’ ‘Running up that Hill’
Gui Boratto, ‘Beautiful Life’
Arcade Fire, ‘Black Wave/Bad Vibrations’ [First 1:05]
Tough Alliance, ‘Looking for Gold,’ ‘A New Chance’

~ by ohkrapp on May 29, 2008.

4 Responses to “The Best Albums of 2007! (If you still care)”

  1. p.s. – i don’t like metal

  2. I do remember a warm night of summer with excellent wine and cheese, in a little yellow house named… Cathy…where you put this song… Magic position… me and another little girl with very long brown hair just danced like crazy, and breathless after the song, we kept on drinking, smoking and eating… I’m kind of melancholic those days…

  3. […] (You can read parts one and two here, featuring some thoughts on some of the films.) Like the 2007 music post, there will be no commentary unless requested. There is one film, however, that needs slightly more […]

  4. add Deerhunter’s ‘Like New’ to that song list. i think i listened to it 20 times today.

Leave a Reply

 
