Endless Summer

I don’t know what the weather’s like where you are, but here in Paris it’s magnifique. And I am officially done with school. (Well, I was able to postpone a few deadlines until September, but I don’t have to worry about any of that until next season.) Hooray! Blow, Louis, blow!

Walking along the canal today, I rued the loss of my portable headphones. Something that jerks, dickweeds and killjoys like to say is, ‘Why do I need an iPod? I have the soundtrack of the city, the soundtrack of life.’ Maybe that’s an attractive idea where you live, but even in the most tranquil corners of Paris, one mainly hear trucks revving, sirens whining and people yelling at each other. And unless you’re John Cage, such sounds can grow wearisome quickly.

So if you’re lucky enough to have a portable music player and headphones and you’re feeling summery (and you’re not turned on by the cityscape’s caterwaul), I made a mix for you.

Download it here. It’s compressed, so if your computer doesn’t have a means to ‘unzip’ files (it should), you can download such a program here.

Meat Puppets, ‘Up on the Sun’
Shangri-Las, ‘The Train From Kansas City’
Jesus & Mary Chain, ‘My Little Underground’
Olivia Tremor Control, ‘I Can Smell the Leaves’
Spacemen 3, ‘Come Down Easy’
John Lennon, ‘Hold On’
Belle & Sebastian, ‘Ease Your Feet Into the Sea’
Vaselines, ‘Son of a Gun’
13th Floor Elevators, ‘It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue’
The Pretty Things, ‘Death’
Love, ‘The Red Telephone’
Keith Hudson, ‘Depth Charge’
XTC, ‘Grass’
Television, ‘Guiding Light’
Lee Hazlewood, ‘Hey Cowboy’
Beach Boys, ‘Til I die’
Patsy Cline, ‘She’s Got You (Live)’
Animal Collective, ‘Kids on Holiday’
Zombies, ‘Hung Up on a Dream’
Rolling Stones, ‘No Expectations’
Sly & the Family Stone, ‘(You Caught Me) Smilin’
John Fahey, ‘Tell Her To Come Back Home’
Thelonious Monk, ‘These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)’
Neil Young, ‘Speakin’ Out’
Slowdive, ‘Catch the Breeze’
Yo la Tengo, ‘Oklahoma, U.S.A.’

I tried to pick songs that some people might not have heard and that were more upbeat than ambient. (This explains the absence of: My Bloody Valentine, Steely Dan, Fleetwood Mac, Stevie Wonder, Velvet Underground, Magnetic Fields and Cluster.) Love (the band) made it, though; when the sun is shining, who doesn’t want to listen to Forever Changes? I put some thought into the sequencing, too, so listen to the songs in the order above if you want the full experience.

I’m trying to isolate the sound that makes these track stand out to me as summery. ‘Up on the Sun’ might capture it perfectly. I think it has something to do with porches and lightning bugs and beer and a certain unidentified insect’s droning hiss that I’ve never heard anywhere outside of Oklahoma, U.S.A. (Okies will know what I’m talking it about.) Also, this was originally a list of great summer albums, so if you like any of the tracks, I can wholeheartedly recommend the album it appears on. (Except for the Slowdive; get Souvlaki instead.)

Enjoy the mix, and post some of your own summer tunes in the comments section. You can even upload them with Mediafire.

~ by ohkrapp on June 13, 2008.

2 Responses to “Endless Summer”

  1. […] interludes here. I lost access to my microphone. And unlike in the two mixes I’ve made (one, two), you won’t be able to play the songs individually. They’ve all been woven […]

  2. […] instead of assembling a summery mélange like last time, this year’s mix is exclusively Beach Boys (although the Zombies have been getting heavy […]

Leave a Reply

 
