I Am What I Play

I don’t have reliable internet these days, so posting is a challenge. I’ll be back in Paris next week.

Until then, for New York readers, friend and arch-libertine Theo is letting me sit in on his DJ gig tonight (Wednesday) at the Black and White bar in the village. I think he goes on at 11:00. Stop by if you can. Expect to hear some Andrea True Connection, Brigitte Bardot, Raincoats, Field Mice, Nerves and as much Hamilton Bohannon as I can sneak in. (Attention vinyl purists: despite liberating my Technics from storage this week, we’ll only be playing digital music tonight.)

I’ve seen some great films since I’ve been in New York. If your Netflix queue feels stale, toss in Andrzej Wajda’s Ashes and Diamonds (1958) post-haste! Featuring Zbigniew Cybulski – the ‘Polish James Dean’ – this is political cinema at its most sublime. Highest recommendations also go to RenĂ© Laloux’s animated Fantastic Planet (1973). If you like trippy hippie free love, Traag intergalactic mating rituals make Zabriskie Point look like Nixon’s bridge club.

Update: Thanks to everyone who came out last night. I didn’t end up getting to play anything until way late because some girl had brought her own DJ – and then I was maybe partially responsible for spilling a glass of someone else’s beer on the mixer and causing a minor short-circuit during Theo’s set. Nonetheless, I did manage to play some Michel Legrand.

And for the record, Abbas Kiarostami’s Close-Up (1991) is a remarkable and deeply tragic film, but not accessible enough for me to recommend it wholeheartedly on here. Thanks, Ben!

~ by ohkrapp on October 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
