Anniversary: The Year of Blogging Dangerously

* * *

I decided to start a blog after being particularly moved by an Animal Collective concert. A year and one hundred posts later, Krapp’s Last Blog is now… well, pretty much the same as it always was, with a few more readers and better looks. My initial plan, to host a sober haven for autodidacts (with occasional musical detours) has evolved into a more erratic personal one. But I hope there’s still a reason to visit. In general, though, I plan to start posting less meta-humbug and focus on original, solid thought and research in a less rambling format. You know who I want to be like? Paul Valéry. What precision! What economy! He wrote philosophy like he was updating his Twitter page.

For readers new to the site, these are some of the posts from the last year which I think are the most worthwhile:

The Rule of Krapp is that however many posts I promise are forthcoming, only one third of them will see the light. (I have almost forty in various states of abandonment.) But in the next few weeks, expect a response to a recent Times article on Paris, my thesis proposal, the highly anticipated Sebastian interview, and some frank thoughts on relationships and insomnia. I also just saw Apocalypse Now for the first time. I might write about that, too.

In that first Animal Collective post, I commented on the group’s habit of playing in concert material from their forthcoming album. The unreleased tracks from that show, I said, could lead to ‘the best album of the next decade if [the music’s] impact survives the transfer from stage to studio.’ If you hadn’t heard, that studio album, Merriweather Post Pavilion, is almost upon us! And very reliable sources say that it’s exquisite. I recognize a few of the track titles from last year’s set lists (I saw AC again in the spring), and two of my favorites, ‘Daily Routine’ and ‘No More Runnin’ appear to have made the cut. Another standout, formerly called ‘House’ will be released on the new album as ‘My Girls.’ I’ll surely let you know when I get hold of it (which usually happens well before I legally should.)

As always, I welcome your feedback. And, most of all, thanks so much for reading my blog.

~ by ohkrapp on October 27, 2008.

One Response to “Anniversary: The Year of Blogging Dangerously”

  1. Joyeux Anniversaire, Krapp’s Last Blog!

Leave a Reply

 
