Ingeborg Bachmann, ‘Böhmen liegt am Meer’ (1964)

Ingeborg Bachmann Chess

Bohemia Lies by the Sea

If houses here are green, I’ll step inside a house.
If bridges here are sound, I’ll walk on solid ground.
If love’s labour’s lost in every age, I’ll gladly lose it here.

If it’s not me, it’s one who is as good as me.

If a word here borders on me, I’ll let it border.
If Bohemia still lies by the sea, I’ll believe in the sea again.
And believing in the sea, thus I can hope for land.

If it’s me, then it’s anyone, for he’s as worthy as me.
I want nothing more for myself. I want to go under.

Under – that means the sea, there I’ll find Bohemia again.
From my grave, I wake in peace.
From deep down I know now, and I’m not lost.

Come here, all you Bohemians, seafarers, dock whores, and ships
unanchored. Don’t you want to be Bohemians, all you Illyrians,
Veronese and Venetians. Play the comedies that make us laugh

until we cry. And err a hundred times,
as I erred and never withstood the trials,
though I did withstand them time after time.

As Bohemia withstood them and one fine day
was released to the sea and now lies by water.

I still border on a word and on another land,
I border, like little else, on everything more and more,

a Bohemian, a wandering minstrel, who has nothing, who is held by nothing,
gifted only at seeing, by a doubtful sea, the land of my choice.

* * *

Sind hierorts Häuser grün, tret ich noch in ein Haus.
Sind hier die Brücken heil, geh ich auf gutem Grund.
Ist Liebesmüh in alle Zeit verloren, verlier ich sie hier gern.

Bin ich’s nicht, ist es einer, der ist so gut wie ich.

Grenz hier ein Wort an mich, so laß ich’s grenzen.
Liegt Böhmen am Meer, glaub ich den Meeren wieder.
Und glaub ich noch ans Meer, so hoffe ich auf Land.

Bin ich’s, so ist’s ein jeder, der ist soviel wie ich.
Ich will nichts mehr für mich. Ich will zugrunde gehn.

Zugrund – das heißt zum Meer, dort find ich Böhmen wieder.
Zugrund gerichtet, wach ich ruhig auf.
Von Grund auf weiß ich jetzt, und ich bin unverloren.

Kommt her, ihr Böhmen alle, Seefahrer, Hafenhuren und Schiffe
unverankert. Wollt ihr nicht böhmisch ein, Illyrer, Veroneser,
und Venezianer alle. Spielt die Komödien, die lachen machen.

Und die zum Weinen sind. Und irrt euch hundertmal,
wie ich mich irrte und Proben nie bestand,
dich hab ich sie bestanden, ein um das andre Mal.

Wie Böhmen sie bestand und eines schönen Tags
ans Meer begandigt wurde und jetzt am Wasser liegt.

Ich grenz noch an ein Wort und an ein andres Land,
ich grenz, wie wenig auch, an alles immer mehr,

ein Böhme, ein Vagant, der nichts hat, den nichts hält,
begabt nur noch, vom Meer, das strittig ist, Land meiner Wahl zu sehen.

~ by ohkrapp on May 12, 2009.

4 Responses to “Ingeborg Bachmann, ‘Böhmen liegt am Meer’ (1964)”

  1. translation from Darkness Spoken: Collected Poems of Ingeborg Bachmann, trans. by Peter Filkins, copyright © 2006 Zephyr Press.

    curious readers: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Winter%27s_Tale#The_seacoast_of_Bohemia

  2. we have to take more photos of ourselves playing chess.

    i like this poem.

  3. Netter Artikel den du da geschrieben hast. Wrde gerne eigentlich deinen RSS Feed abonieren aber irgendwie finde ich ihn einfach nicht obwohl ich meiner Meinung nach jetzt eigentlich berall geschaut habe.

  4. sehr schön, really enjoyed this. ich habe gerade ein bild von i.b. für eine geschichte benutzt. great blog. i’d like to invite you to kaffe in katmandu. cheers from berlin.

Leave a Reply

 
